Hotel Angela

A Jubilee remembers.....

a jubilee remembers Hotel Angela Lech Arlberg
Elmar Walch Hotel ANGELA

Interview with Elmar Walch sen. on his 80th birthday in January 2008

We have celebrated Elmar Walch’s 80th birthday - a very special event for our family and a wonderful opportunity to look back onto the rich life of our father...

Elisabeth: Tell me what Lech was like, when this all began?

Elmar Walch: In those days, we still had our mountain farmhouse, where our family had been living for generations. It was right here, on the spot where the Hotel Angela stands today. Those were the early days of tourism in Lech with the Krone, the Tannbergerhof and the Post as the first hotels. Then, in 1925, Engelbert Jochum and Ludwig Schneider founded the ski school.

Elisabeth: And that was of course the focus of your activities for many years.



Elmar Walch: I started working there as a ski teacher in 1948, just after the war. Between 1968 and 1988 I was in charge of running the ski school, so I experienced at first hand and simultaneously two aspects of the tremendous boom in tourism in Lech.

Elisabeth: You mean both down at the ski school and up here at home?

Elmar Walch: Exactly. In 1962 we built the Pension Angela on the site of the family farm. But running both a ski school and at the same time a bed and breakfast (to begin with) and (later, after 1975) an hotel would have been impossible without Luise. After our marriage in 1965, she put all her talent and energy into looking after our guests. She is after all the professional hotelier, who grew up in what was the family’s business and learned the profession from the ground up. That left me free to devote myself to the job of managing the ski school, something for which I owe her a tremendous debt of gratitude, and which I would like to acknowledge again here.

Elisabeth: You also put a lot of work into the business of the municipality and the Tourist Office. Looking back, I have to say that I admire the openness with which your generation embraced new ideas.

Elmar Walch: It was very exciting to be involved in the decisions that shaped the future of Lech. A tiny, remote mountain village was transformed into a fashionable winter resort for guests from all over the world. Mountain farmers became, during the winters, ski teachers and hoteliers. I believe that this successful but measured transformation was to a large extent made possible by my generation’s strong attachment to its roots.

Elisabeth: … and its modesty and unassuming nature. My impression of you is of someone with deep roots in Lech and very close ties to its natural surroundings.

Elmar Walch: I grew up here, after all, and I know every inch of it – in winter and in summer. When I was a boy, I minded the cows on the very land on which I go hunting today. And as a young man, I cut hay on the meadows and mountain pastures which I skied down in winter as a ski teacher and winter guide with my class.

Elisabeth: A busy life and a lot of work…

Elmar Walch: My work and especially the contact with our guests in the ski school and back at the hotel have kept me young. And although I certainly appreciate the fact that, since we handed over the day-to-day running of the business, I now have the freedom to go hunting or to spend time with our grand-children, I am not planning to give up all contact with our guests. After all, over the years, many of them have become dear friends.

Book Online

Book Online
Book Online

Here you can book quickly and easily and at absolutely the best price! We look forward to your visit and have already offered a 5% online booking bonus. more

Special offers

Special offers
Special offers

Of couse we would love to present our attractive deals to you. We hope that you will like what we have designed for you!
more

Room Rates Winter 2018/2019

Room Rates Winter 2018/2019
Room Rates Winter 2018/2019

The next winter season is coming soon... browse through our winter price liste and make use of our attractive offers!
more

Pure pleasurebook now

Hotel Angela

Ein Jubilar erinnert sich..

ein_jubilar_erinnert_sich_Hotel Angela_Lech_Arlberg
Elmar Walch Hotel ANGELA

Interview zum 80. Geburtstag von Elmar Walch sen. im Jänner 2008

80 Jahre ist Elmar Walch geworden – für unsere Familie ein großer Festtag und schöner Anlass, zurück zu blicken auf das erfüllte Leben unseres Papas…

Elisabeth: Wie war das damals in Lech, als alles anfing?

Elmar Walch: Genau an dem Platz, an dem heute das Hotel ANGELA steht, stand damals unser Bergbauernhof, auf dem unsere Familie schon seit Generationen lebte. Der Tourismus in Lech steckte noch in den Kinderschuhen: Krone, Tannbergerhof und Post, das waren die ersten Gasthöfe in Lech. Und 1925 gründeten dann Engelbert Jochum und Ludwig Schneider die Skischule Lech.

Elisabeth: Die ja auch viele Jahre dein Wirkungsfeld war.

Elmar Walch: Nach dem Krieg hab ich dort 1948 als Skilehrer angefangen. Von 1968 bis 1988 habe ich als Skischulleiter den großen Aufschwung im Lecher Tourismus gleich auf zwei Seiten hautnah miterlebt.

Elisabeth: In der Skischule und daheim?

Elmar Walch: Ja, 1962 haben wir an der Stelle, an der das Bauernhaus stand, die Pension Angela gebaut. Skischulleitung und Pension – das ging nur, weil sich, nach unserer Heirat 1965, Luise mit Tatkraft und Energie um unsere Gäste in der Pension und ab 1975 im Hotel gekümmert hat. Sie ist ja die eigentliche Hotelfachfrau, die das Gastgewerbe schon im elterlichen Betrieb von der Pike auf gelernt hatte. Damit hat sie mir immer den Rücken für meine Arbeit als Skischulleiter freigehalten und dafür möchte ich ihr an dieser Stelle auch noch mal danken.

Elisabeth: Du warst ja auch viele Jahre für die Gemeinde und den Tourismusverband tätig. Aus heutiger Sicht bewundere ich die Offenheit für Neues, die deine Generation bewiesen hat.

Elmar Walch: Die Entwicklung von Lech mitzubestimmen, war eine wirklich spannende Aufgabe. Aus einem kleinen, abgeschiedenen Bergbauerndorf wurde ein bekannter Wintersportort für Gäste aus der ganzen Welt. Aus Bergbauern wurden im Winter Skilehrer und Gastgeber. Dass diese Entwicklung so behutsam war und gut gelungen ist, liegt mit Sicherheit auch an einer gewissen Bodenständigkeit meiner Generation.

Elisabeth: Und Bescheidenheit. Ich erlebe dich als besonders tief verwurzelt mit Lech und sehr naturverbunden.

Elmar Walch: Ich bin ja hier aufgewachsen und kenne jeden Stock und Stein - im Sommer wie im Winter. Als kleiner Bub habe ich dort Rinder gehütet, wo heute mein Jagdrevier ist. Und als junger Mann habe ich die Wiesen und Bergmähder geheut, die ich als Skilehrer und Winterbergführer mit Gästen hinuntergewedelt bin.

Elisabeth: Ein bewegtes Leben mit viel Arbeit…

Elmar Walch: Die Arbeit und vor allem der Kontakt mit den Gästen in der Skischule und bei uns im Hotel haben mich jung gehalten. Und obwohl ich zugebe, dass ich es schätze, nach der Übergabe mein Leben einfach zu genießen, auf die Jagd zu gehen oder mich unseren Enkeln zu widmen: Ganz ohne Kontakt zu unseren Gästen im Hotel möchte ich nicht sein. Schließlich sind viele für mich inzwischen zu lieben Freunden geworden.

Preise + Packages + Online Buchen

Online Buchen

Online Buchen
Online Buchen

Buchen Sie hier schnell und unkompliziert Ihren Traumurlaub bei uns im Hotel ANGELA in Lech! Wir freuen uns auf Sie! Mehr

Preise Winter 2017/2018

Preise Winter 2017/2018
Preise Winter 2017/2018

Der nächste Winter kommt bestimmt! Stöbern Sie hier in unseren Winterpreisen und profitieren Sie von super Angeboten! Mehr

Packages

Packages
Packages

Gerne möchten wir Ihnen auch unsere tollen Angebote vorstellen. Wir hoffen, auch Ihren Geschmack mit einem der Packages zu treffen!
Mehr

Rein in’sVergnügen